Created on a narrow strip of prime golfing land between the New Course and the sea, the Jubilee was originally intended for ladies and beginners.
It was laid out by John Angus Junior and made ready in only three months. The course was named in honour of Queen Victoria, whose Diamond Jubilee fell in 1897. On a full day of celebrations, the Jubilee Fountain was unveiled on the Links and the Jubilee Course was officially opened by Mary Macgregor, wife of Provost John Macgregor, who struck the first drive with a commemorative club made by Old Tom Morris.
Around 1902 David Honeyman, Tom Morris' right hand man, suggested that it was possible to extend the course to 18 holes. This was done in 1905 at a cost of £150.
Between 1938 and 1946, further improvements were made under the supervision of Willie Auchterlonie, the Open Champion of 1893. He increased the course's length to 6,020 yards and commented that "..some day this will be a championship course".
A Championship Layout
In 1988 the re-design of the Jubilee to championship standard was carried out by Donald Steel. The teeing grounds were raised, not only providing wonderful views of the Links, but also exposing the golfers to the winds which sweep in from the bay. Mr. Steel's redesigned course now plays at 6,742 yards and is a real test for all golfers.
The course was officially opened by Curtis Strange, the reigning US Open champion, in September 1989. The Jubilee has hosted the Scottish Amateur Strokeplay Championship, the Boys' Home Internationals, the British Mid-Amateur Championship and, in 2004, it was the venue for the qualifying rounds of the Amateur Championship. The course hosts the St Andrews Links Trophy in alternate years with the New Course. Willie Auchterlonie's judgement has been fully vindicated.